St. Valentine’s Day

Happy February everyone! February and I have a love/hate relationship. I hate it because usually it means cold and dreary weather (though you never know in Texas). I love it because I love any holiday and February contains a particularly lovable holiday- Valentine’s day! Now I know you might think that I love Valentine’s day because I have a Valentine- but I have ALWAYS loved celebrating love in general. Everyone has someone to love!

B and I decided to be low key this year- and boy was he shocked when I told him that’s what I wanted! But since I’m in Fort Worth and he’s in Dallas, it just didn’t make sense to go nuts! We are celebrating on Friday night instead, with a nice home-cooked meal :)

However, I did want to do something special for B without breaking the bank! So I decided to show him a little love every day in February leading up to Valentine’s day. I found 14 awesome verses about love, one for each day. Some I already knew and some I googled (no shame). My favorite is probably Proverbs 15:17 because I think it is hilariously goofy and I have no idea why! Anywho, the verses are listed below:

” I have found the one who my soul loves.” -Song of Solomon 3:4

“And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.” -Colossians 3:14

“Let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and truth.” -1 John 3:18

“And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.” -1 Corinthians 13:13

“And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out His love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” -Romans 5:5

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” -John 3:16

“A bowl of vegetables with someone you love is better than steak with someone you hate.” -Proverbs 15:17

“Love prospers when fault is forgiven, but dwelling on it separates close friends.” -Proverbs 17:9

“Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.” -1 John 4:8

“We love because he first loved us.” -1 John 4:19

“Then the Lord God said, ‘It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper who is just right for him.'” -Genesis 2:18

“For wives, this means submit to your husbands as to the Lord.” -Ephesians 5:22

“She is clothed in strength and dignity and laughs without fear of the future.” -Proverbs 31:25

“Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth! For your love is better than wine.” -Song of Solomon 1:2

craft supplies

After gathering my trusty craft supplies, I got to work! I used each verse as a guide for my love letter for the day. The only thing I bought was a set of 50 craft paper envelopes from Hobby Lobby for $6.99. I labeled each envelop Day 1-14 so that he would be able to know when to open them! Luckily I saw him on the 1st of February, and just left the rest of the letters with him.

envelopes

I used “Handy George” font to model how to write each day. I LOVE dafont.com – I am not a huge fan of my handwriting, but I think there is something special about hand-lettering, so I have become a pro at copying fonts!

Here are a few of my final products:

cards

__________

Like I mentioned earlier, we are going to celebrate by making dinner together on Friday night after Valentine’s Day, so I scoured pinterest for some yummy love themed recipes, and here is what I found:

Recipe here

Recipe here

who doesn't love churros?! recipe here

who doesn’t love churros?! recipe here

how about heart shaped ravioli for dinner? recipe here

how about heart shaped ravioli for dinner? recipe here

Not much of a chef?! That’s okay too! Add a cute label to y’alls favorite food:

from the circuit project center

from the circuit project center

I hope everyone has a wonderful Valentine’s day :)

Enjoy, y’all!

Rachel

P.S. Scroll down to the bottom and be sure to “Follow Me!”

P.P.S. Only 465 more days until I’m a Mrs.!

***UPDATE***

Tomorrow is Valentine’s day! Don’t forget to do something special for someone! My Valentine sent these over to Fort Worth today and I had to call the TCU post office so they would let me come get them after closing- but thank goodness I did. Aren’t they gorgeous?! What a sweetie :)

flowers

Leave a comment